Obafemi Awolowo University is a Federal Government-owned university in Ile-Ife. Two years after Nigeria got Her independence in 1960 it was established.

In this article, we will be revealing the courses offered at Obafemi Awolowo University firstly let’s discuss the admission requirements needed.

1). You must have at least five (5) credits in your WAEC or NECO at your first sitting or 6 credit in two sittings in your required subjects to apply for admission at Obafemi Awolowo University.

2). You have to register for JAMB and get up to the cut-off mark which is 200.
If the two requirements above are being met you are expected to prepare yourself for the screening exercise to achieve a high score that will help you to be admitted especially for a highly competitive course.

Obafemi Awolowo University offers 82 courses and has 4 Faculties under the Colleges of Health Sciences. These faculties include:

OAU Faculties

  • Faculty of Clinical Sciences.
  • Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.
  • Faculty of Dentistry.
  • Institute of Public Health.

The Faculty of Clinical Sciences is made up of the following departments:

  • Medicine.
  • Mental Health.
  • Community Health.
  • Pediatrics and Child Health.
  • Dermatology and Venereology.
  • Anesthesia and Intensive Care.
  • Obstetrics, Gynaecology, and Perinatology.
  • Orthopedic Surgery and Traumatology.
  • Radiology.
  • Surgery.

The Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences offers the following courses:

  • Anatomy and Cell Biology.
  • Chemical Pathology.
  • Hematology and Immunology.
  • Medical Microbiology and Parasitology.
  • Medical Biochemistry.
  • Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics.
  • Medical Rehabilitation.
  • Morbid Anatomy and Forensic Medicine.
  • Nursing Science.
  • Physiological Sciences.
  • Faculty of Dentistry.
  • Oral/Maxillofacial Surgery and Oral Pathology.
  • Preventive and Community Dentistry.
  • Child Dental Health.
  • Restorative Dentistry.

List of Courses offered by OAU

About the author


Leave a Comment